PresenTense: Highlights from Week 1 by Noah Sudow

June 22, 2010 at 11:36 am | Posted in Noah Sudow, PresenTense Fellowship 2010 | Leave a comment
Tags:

Shalom, my name is Noah Sudow and I am going to be blogging this summer from the PresenTense Institute in Jerusalem. My project is to create an online tool to connect research faculty in Northeast Ohio and Israel to help them partner on innovation projects. These discoveries, utilizing the expertise from both regions, can then lead to new products and jobs.

Now that you have the basics, here is what has been happening:

What an incredible first week in Israel! However, it didn’t start off as planned, as weather in Newark delayed my departure by a day (don’t even get me started), but once I got here it was off to the races.

I arrived on Friday afternoon last week, just in time for Shabbat! Although I missed orientation, the day of rest allowed me the opportunity to meet and interact with the staff and fellows. My project is a little unique compared to some of the others, as it is both earlier in its development stage (I came up with the idea just over two months ago) and is more focused on creating a tool rather than a community organization. It is an exciting venture, and I’m told that the first two weeks will be spent innovating and really getting to learn the target audience (research faculty) and what their needs are. Thankfully, I was able to meet with a few universities in Northeast Ohio before I left to get their side of the story- and I’m happy to report that they are interested in having partnerships with Israel and collaborating on projects.

The other fellows are amazing people, all with incredible backgrounds. Their passion is undeniable and I am anxious to see where their projects will be in a few years. They are also fun and it has been great to go out and explore Jerusalem and Israel together.

Here are some highlights from the first week:

  • Attending ILSI BioMed, where Ohio, in particular Cleveland, Beachwood, and Akron, were well represented. I am confident that the large presence will birth new relationships and new businesses coming to Ohio!
  • Learning from Asher Epstein, head of the Dingman Center for Entrepreneurship at University of Maryland, and Pamela Deutsch, a renowned consultant for non-profit organizations.
  • And of course, asking a woman at the bus-stop for directions and ending up playing a tremendous game of Jewish Geography.

More to come next week about my project’s development!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

